LibGuides: 7th Natural Resources: renewable and non-renewable: Home

Research Guidelines

1) Search the databases and websites linked below for your topic.

2) When using a search engine to find additional sources, be critical of the sources you find.

Use the ABCs of website evaluation to determine if the source is credible:

A = Authority Who is the author or which organization created the website?

B = Bias Is the website biased by its creator's purpose or mission? What can you tell about the purpose of the site based on the domain name (.com, .edu, .gov, .org)?

C = Current Content Was the content created recently enough for your research needs?

3) You should track your citations and take notes in NoodleTools. Use your RPCS email to log in.

Please email Ms. Fox or visit her in the library if you need help!

Databases

Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia for students in all divisions that is updated continuously and closely correlated to curriculum standards.

Username: roland
Password: school
Environmental Studies in Context
Gale Environmental Studies in Context contains journal articles, magazine articles, and other resources on issues ranging from global warming, to food safety, to access to health care, to the impact of economic development on international relations, today's important environmental issues are shaping the future and reach far beyond the United States.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
Points of View Reference Center
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issuesand develop analytical thinking skills.

Username: roland
Password: ParkCS2023!
Science in Context
Science In Context provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. It showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. The collection includes millions of full-text articles that includes national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
World Book Online
World Book Online encyclopedia for students of all ages.

Username: rolandpark
Password: athome

Articles and Websites about Renewable Energy

Clean Energy
Via the U.S. Department of Energy
Energy Sources
Via the U.S. Department of Energy
Local Renewable Energy: Benefits and Resources
Via the Environmental Protection Agency
Renewable Energy
Via the Center for Climate and Energy Solutions. Includes detailed information on all types of renewable energy, charts, graphs, etc.
Renewable energy explained
Via the U.S. Energy Information Administration, includes charts and graphs.
Renewable Power Grows Strongly, Despite the Pandemic
Via the New York Times
Where Wind and Solar Power Need to Grow for America to Meet Its Goals
Via New York Times, includes maps and graphics

Articles and Websites about Non-renewable Energy Sources

Energy Sources
Via the U.S. Department of Energy
Fossil Energy Sources
Via the U.S. Department of Energy
Nonrenewable Energy Sources
Via U.S. Energy Information Administration
Nonrenewable Resources
Via National Geographic Education

E-Books in our Collection

Gale E-Books in Context
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a great source for reference e-books aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720

Print Books in Our Collection

See the cart in Ms. Bacon's room for relevant print resources.