LibGuides: 8th Research: The Full Story, Black History is American History: Home

Black History is American History

1) Search the databases, library catalog, websites linked below for your topic. Remember to try alternate search terms or combining terms with an AND.

2) When using a search engine to find additional sources, be critical of the sources you find.

Use the ABCs of website evaluation to determine if the source is credible:

A = Authority Who is the author or which organization created the website? Are they experts in United States history? How do you know?

B = Bias Is the website biased by its creator's purpose or mission? What can you tell about the purpose of the site based on the domain name (.com, .edu, .gov, .org)?

C = Current Content Was the content created recently enough for your research needs?

3) Use NoodleTools to track your citations and take notes. Use your RPCS email to log in.

Please email Ms. Fox or visit her in the library if you need help!

Databases

African American History
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into a subject or era through the Topic Centers.

Username: ropark
Password: facts
American History
Primary documents and reference articles on American history from the era of early exploration (1350) to the present.

Username: rolandstudent
Password: student

JSTOR: Black History Bulletin
Originally published as the Negro History Bulletin by Dr. Carter G. Woodson. JSTOR is offering free access to all editions from 1937-2001.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Includes full-text articles from the following newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004), The New York Times (1851 - 2014), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), and The Washington Post (1877 - 2001).

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#
U.S. History in Context
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills
Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720

Streaming Video and Films

Significance of African Americans in Sports
Online presentation, including videos, by Sports Curator Damion Thomas, PhD of the National Museum of African American History and Culture.

Helpful Websites

8th Civil Rights Movement Research LibGuide
Use this LibGuide for targeted resources on the Little Rock Nine and the Freedom Riders, among other important Civil Rights figures.
10 Black Artists You Should Know
By Olju Man via The Medium
10 Black Scientists that Science Teachers Should Know About
Via PBS teachers online
Amazing Black Scientists
Via LiveScience
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality
Via Proquest, features relevant primary source documents organized by time period
BlackPast.org
This 6,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and the history of more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.
Digital Schomburg
Digital Schomburg provides access to exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
Martin Luther King Jr.: His Life in Pictures
Via NBC News
Mary McLeod Bethune
Via the National Park Service
National Women's History Museum
Through The Window And Into The Mirror: Narratives Of African American STEM Professionals
Via the Career Conversations Series from the National Museum of African American History and Culture

EBooks

Gale E-Books in Context
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a great source for reference e-books aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720

Search for Books

Library Catalog

A Sampling of Non-Fiction Books in our Collection

Black Like Us: a century of lesbian, gay, and bisexual African American fiction by Devon W. Carbado (Editor); Dwight McBride (Editor)
Call Number: FIC BLA

ISBN: 9781573447140

Publication Date: 2011-10-04
Black Stars by Otha Richard Sullivan; Jim Haskins (General Editor)
Call Number: BC SUL

ISBN: 9781118466391

Publication Date: 2012-06-05
A Black Women's History of the United States by Daina Ramey Berry; Kali Nicole Gross
Call Number: 305.48 BER

ISBN: 9780807033555

Publication Date: 2020-02-04
BOX: Henry Brown Mails Himself to Freedom by Carole Boston Weatherford; Michele Wood (Illustrator)
Call Number: BIO BRO

ISBN: 9780763691561

Publication Date: 2020-04-14
Changing the Equation: 50+ US Black women in STEM by Tonya Bolden
Call Number: 920 BOL

ISBN: 9781419707346

Publication Date: 2020-03-03
Creating Their Own Image: the history of African-American women artists by Lisa E. Farrington
Call Number: 704 FAR

ISBN: 9780195167214

Publication Date: 2004-12-30
Life upon These Shores: looking at African American history, 1513-2008 by Henry Louis Gates
Call Number: 973 Gat

ISBN: 9780307593429

Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Lifting As We Climb: black women's battle for the ballot box by Evette Dionne
Call Number: 323.3 DIO

ISBN: 9780451481542

Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Making Our Way Home: the Great Migration and the Black American Dream by Blair Imani; Patrisse Cullors (Foreword by)
Call Number: 973.9 IMA

ISBN: 9781984856920

Publication Date: 2020-01-14
Pathfinders: the journeys of 16 extraordinary Black souls by Tonya Bolden
Call Number: BC BOL

ISBN: 9781419714559

Publication Date: 2017-01-03
The Power of Her Pen: the story of groundbreaking journalist Ethel L. Payne by Lesa Cline-Ransome; John Parra (Illustrator)
Call Number: BIO PAY

ISBN: 9781481462891

Publication Date: 2020-01-14
Schomburg: the Man Who Built a Library by Carole Boston Weatherford; Eric Velasquez (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781536208979

Publication Date: 2019-08-06

In luminous paintings and arresting poems, two of children’s literature’s top African-American scholars track Arturo Schomburg’s quest to correct history.