LibGuides: 9th H English Hybrid Assignment: Home

American History Databases

African American History This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into a subject or era through the Topic Centers.

Username: ropark
Password: facts
American History This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on American history from the era of early exploration (1350) to the present.

Username: rolandstudent
Password: student
American Indian History This link opens in a new window
American Indian History offers fast access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.

Username: ropark
Password: facts
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills
Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720

Image Database

ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights-cleared images from one site.

Username: roland
Password: school

World History Databases

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras covers early human history around the globefrom prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance.

Username: rolandstudent
Password: student
World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
World History: The Modern Era (covering history from the Renaissance to today) is the latest update of the reference standard of electronic history reference materials for high school and high-level middle school coursework.

Username: rolandstudent
Password: student
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale World History in Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

Username: balt23720
Password:balt23720

Gale E-Books (lots of history topics can be found here)

Gale E-Books in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a great source for reference e-books aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720

Search for History Books

Library Catalog

A Sampling of Books in our Collection

The Shelter and the Fence by Norman H. Finkelstein
Call Number: 362.8 FIN
ISBN: 9781641603836
Publication Date: 2021-06-08
"In 1944, at the height of World War II, 982 European refugees found a temporary haven at Fort Ontario in Oswego, New York. They were men, women, and children who had spent frightening years one step ahead of Nazi pursuers and death. They spoke nineteen different languages, and, while most of the refugees were Jewish, a number were Catholic, Greek Orthodox, and Protestant Christians."
Tell Them We Remember by Susan D. Bachrach
Call Number: 940.53 Bac
ISBN: 0316692646
Publication Date: 1994-10-03
America Dreaming by Laban Carrick Hill
Call Number: 303.48 Hil
ISBN: 9780316009041
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry by Paula Yoo
Call Number: 305.895 YOO
ISBN: 9781324002871
Publication Date: 2021-04-20
"An account of the killing of Vincent Chin, the verdicts that took the Asian American community to the streets in protest, and the groundbreaking civil rights trial that followed"
The King Years by Taylor Branch
Call Number: 323.1 Bra JJMMRC
ISBN: 9781451678970
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
This work includes selections from the America in the King Years trilogy (Parting the Waters; Pillar of Fire; and At Canaan's Edge) with new introductions by the Pulitzer Prize winning author. A chronicle of key events in the civil rights movement traces how it evolved from a bus strike to a political and social revolution.
The Cold War by Valerie Bodden
Call Number: 909.82 Bod
ISBN: 9781583415467
Publication Date: 2007-07-01

9th H English Hybrid Assignment: Home

Research Guidelines

American History Databases

Image Database

World History Databases

Gale E-Books (lots of history topics can be found here)

Search for History Books

A Sampling of Books in our Collection