LibGuides: Immigration Reform: Home

Research Guidelines

1) Search the databases and websites linked below for information about immigration policy and reforms. Remember to try alternate search terms or combining terms with an AND.

2) When using a search engine to find additional sources, be critical of the sources you find.

Use the ABCs of website evaluation to determine if the source is credible:

A = Authority Who is the author or which organization created the website? Are they experts in United States history? How do you know?

B = Bias Is the website biased by its creator's purpose or mission? What can you tell about the purpose of the site based on the domain name (.com, .edu, .gov, .org)?

C = Current Content Was the content created recently enough for your research needs?

3) Use NoodleTools to track your citations and take notes. Use your RPCS email to log in. Share your project with Mr. Jackson's project inbox.

Please email Ms. Fox or visit her in the library if you need help!

Useful Databases

Ethnic News Watch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Username: rolandpark
Password: rolandpark
Explora Secondary Schools
Designed specifically for middle and high school students, this database provides access to popular full-text magazines, books, images, and journals for middle and high school research.

Username: roland
Password: ParkCS2023!
ProQuest Central Student
ProQuest Central K-12 is a multidisciplinary resource that brings together many of ProQuest’s most important, complete databases in science, technology, education, social sciences, humanities, and news. This database solves the problem of preparing students for college level academics by giving them access to a variety of sources, types of content, and multiple subjects using an interface that is widely used in higher education and prep schools.

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#
U.S. History in Context
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills
Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#

General Immigration Websites

Immigration
Via CNN, the latest on immigration, refugees and international travel.
Immigration and Migration
Via the Pew Research Center
Immigration Law
Via PBS Newshour
Immigration Policy
Via Associated Press News
U.S. Immigration
Via PBS Newshour
U.S. Immigration Reform
Via PBS Newshour