LibGuides: Juanita Jackson Mitchell Research: Home

Research Instructions

Hello students! The following are a suggested path for gathering more information about Juanita Jackson Mitchell.

1) Use the exhibit as a starting point in your research of Juanita Jackson Mitchell.

2) Then search the databases for further information. Try both "Juanita Mitchell" and "Juanita Jackson Mitchell" or search for some of the subjects mentioned in the articles (court cases or other names).

3) Explore the websites linked below for information provided by the Maryland State Archives and Maryland Historical Society.

4) Start a collaborative project in NoodleTools (sign in with your RPCS Office 365 account) where you can track your sources (Chicago Style) and take notes.

Databases

Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Username: rolandpark
Password: rolandpark
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from the following newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004), The New York Times (1851 - 2014), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), and The Washington Post (1877 - 2001).

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#

Websites

In Memoriam: Juanita Jackson Mitchell
Via Maryland Law Review
Juanita Jackson Mitchell (1913-1992)
Via the Archives of Maryland. Provides biographical information( including legal cases), images, and links to related information.
Freedom Fighter: Juanita Jackson Mitchell
Via Maryland State Archives

Journal Articles and other source materials

"We Must March Forward!" Juanita Jackson and the Origins of the NAACP Youth Movement