LibGuides: 7th Science: Resilient Ecosystems after a Natural Disaster: Home

Recommended Databases

Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia for students in all divisions that is updated continuously and closely correlated to curriculum standards.

Username: roland
Password: school
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues In Context supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single searchGlobal Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
ImageQuest
Millions of rights-cleared images from one site.

Username: roland
Password: school
Science in Context
Science In Context provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. It showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. The collection includes millions of full-text articles that includes national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#
World Book Online
World Book Online encyclopedia for students of all ages.

Username: rolandpark
Password: athome

General Websites for all Natural Hazards

Natural Disasters and Severe Weather
Via the Centers for Disease Control, this resource provides information on many natural hazards
Natural Hazards Viewer (interactive map)
Via NOAA
National Risk Index (US only, interactive map)

Tornadoes

About Tornadoes
Via the National Weather Service
Severe Weather 101: Tornado Basics
Via NOAA National Severe Storms Laboratory

Floods, Mudslides and Landslides

Flood Products (Warnings)--What do they Mean?
Explanation of the National Weather Service's flood warning system, via Alabama's branch of the National Weather Service
How are Floods Predicted?
Via the U.S. Geological Society
Landslides/Mudslides: Forecasting Risk
Via Columbia Climate School Earth Institute,
Includes information about which areas on the earth are most susceptible to landslides.
Landslides: Predicting Landslide Hazards in Near Real-Time
Via NASA's Earth Observatory

Earthquakes

Earthquakes
Via National Geographic Kids
The Science of Earthquakes
Via the U.S. Geological Survey, this webpage includes links to related information about earthquakes and answers to frequently asked questions.

Hurricanes

Hurricane Forecasting
Via the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
National Hurricane Center
Via National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, explore the Educational Resources menu for more information

Tsunamis

Tsunami: What are Tsunamis?
Via the U.S. Geological Service, includes answers to Frequently Asked Questions.
Tsunami: What is a Tsunami?
Via the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, includes link to preparedness programs and trackers

Wildfires

Understanding Wildfire Warnings, Watches and Behavior
Via the National Weather Service
When and Where do Wildfires Occur?
Via the Western Fire Chiefs Association
Wildfires
Via National Geographic Education

Volcanic Eruptions

Global Volcanism Program: Current Eruptions
Via the Smithsonian Institution's Global Volcanism Program
Global Volcanism Program: Frequently Asked Questions
Via the Smithsonian Institution's Global Volcanism Program
How do Volcanoes Erupt?
Via the U.S. Geological Society, includes links to related information
Volcanic Alert Levels Characterize Conditions at U.S. Volcanoes
Via the U.S. Geological Survey

7th Science: Resilient Ecosystems after a Natural Disaster: Home

Research Guidelines

Recommended Databases

General Websites for all Natural Hazards

Tornadoes

Floods, Mudslides and Landslides

Earthquakes

Hurricanes

Tsunamis

Wildfires

Volcanic Eruptions