LibGuides: 8th Resistance to the Holocaust: Home

Guidelines for Research

1) Search the databases, library catalog, and websites linked below for your topic. Remember to try alternate search terms or combining two terms with an AND.

2) When using a search engine to find additional sources, be critical of the sources you find.

Use the ABCs of website evaluation to determine if the source is credible:

A = Authority Who is the author or which organization created the website? Are they experts in United States history? How do you know?

B = Bias Is the website biased by its creator's purpose or mission? What can you tell about the purpose of the site based on the domain name (.com, .edu, .gov, .org)?

C = Current Content Was the content created recently enough for your research needs?

3) Use NoodleTools to track your citations and take notes. Use your RPCS email to log in, then create a project and share it with your teacher's project inbox.

Please email Ms. Fox or visit her in the library if you need help!

Relevant Databases

Explora Secondary Schools
Designed specifically for middle and high school students, this database provides access to popular full-text magazines, books, images, and journals for middle and high school research.

Username: roland
Password: ParkCS2023!
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Includes full-text articles from the following newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004), The New York Times (1851 - 2014), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), and The Washington Post (1877 - 2001).

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#
World History: The Modern Era
World History: The Modern Era (covering history from the Renaissance to today) is the latest update of the reference standard of electronic history reference materials for high school and high-level middle school coursework.

Username: rolandstudent
Password: student
World History in Context
Gale World History in Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

Username: balt23720
Password:balt23720

Helpful General Websites

Holocaust Encyclopedia
Search the Holocaust Encyclopedia via the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Jewish Resistance
Via the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum's Holocaust Encyclopedia
Jewish Resistance to the Holocaust
Via The Wiener Holocaust Library in London, this website offers a virtual exhibit
National WWII Museum
Non-Jewish Resistance
Via the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum's Holocaust Encyclopedia
Rescue and Resistance
Via the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum's Holocaust Encyclopedia, this webpage offers a series of boxes with further information
Resistance during the Holocaust (forms of and groups)
Via the Anti-Defamation League (ADL)
The Righteous Among the Nations (non-Jewish Resisters)
Via Yad Vashem, The World Holocaust Memorial, explore this section of the website to learn more about non-Jewish people who resisted the Holocaust.
Voices of Resistance
Via USC's Shoah Foundation
Yad Vashem: The World Holocaust Remembrance Center

Search Gale eBooks

Gale E-Books in Context
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a great source for reference e-books aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720

Books in our Collection

Courageous Teen Resisters by Ann Byers
Call Number: 940.53 Bye
ISBN: 9780766032699
Publication Date: 2010-01-16
Examines the stories of children and teen resisters in Europe during the Holocaust, including resistance groups, unarmed resistance, armed resistance in the ghettos and camps, and partisan units.
Flowers in the Gutter by K. R. Gaddy
Call Number: 940.53 GAD
ISBN: 9780525555414
Publication Date: 2020-01-07
"The Edelweiss Pirates were a loosely organized group of working-class young people in the Rhine Valley of Germany. They faced off with Nazis during the Third Reich and suffered consequences for their resistance during and after World War II."
Heroes of the Holocaust by Susan Glick
Call Number: 940.53 Gli
ISBN: 1590180631
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
Profiles six individuals, some Jewish and some Gentile, who acted heroically in opposing the Nazi persecution of Jews in what came to be known as the Holocaust.
Rescuers by Gay Block; Malka Drucker; Cynthia Ozick (Prologue by)
Call Number: 940.53 Blo
ISBN: 9780841913226
Publication Date: 1992-03-01
In this book, rescuers recall how they smuggled Jews out of the ghettos; worked in resistance movements; forged passports and baptismal certificates; hid Jews in cellars, barns, and behind false walls; shared their meager food rations; secretly disposed of waste; and raised Jewish children as their own.
Resistance to the Nazis by Jane Shuter
Call Number: 940.53 Shu
ISBN: 1403432066
Publication Date: 2002-12-09
Describes how certain people, both Jews and Gentiles, were brave enough to stand up to the Nazis during the Holocaust despite the price they would pay if caught.
Tell Them We Remember by Susan D. Bachrach
Call Number: 940.53 Bac
ISBN: 0316074845
Publication Date: 1994-10-03
Chapters include sections on resistance
The Warsaw Ghetto Uprising by Linda Jacobs Altman
Call Number: 940.53 Alt
ISBN: 9781598453478
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
Examines the Warsaw ghetto uprising, including the roots of the resistance in the Warsaw ghetto, stories from the participants in the uprising, how the battle ended, and how the small group of fighters became heroes during the Holocaust.