LibGuides: 7th Science: Keeping Me Safe: Home

Recommended Databases

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia for students in all divisions that is updated continuously and closely correlated to curriculum standards.

Username: roland
Password: school
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science In Context provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. It showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. The collection includes millions of full-text articles that includes national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
World Book Online This link opens in a new window
World Book Online encyclopedia for students of all ages.

Username: rolandpark
Password: athome

Natural Disasters and Severe Weather
Via the Centers for Disease Control, this resource provides information on many natural hazards

Flood Products (Warnings)--What do they Mean?
Explanation of the National Weather Service's flood warning system, via Alabama's branch of the National Weather Service
How are Floods Predicted?
Via the U.S. Geological Society

Earthquakes
Via National Geographic Kids
The Science of Earthquakes
Via the U.S. Geological Survey, this webpage includes links to related information about earthquakes and answers to frequently asked questions.

Global Volcanism Program: Current Eruptions
Via the Smithsonian Institution's Global Volcanism Program
Global Volcanism Program: Frequently Asked Questions
Via the Smithsonian Institution's Global Volcanism Program
How do Volcanoes Erupt?
Via the U.S. Geological Society, includes links to related information
Volcanic Alert Levels Characterize Conditions at U.S. Volcanoes
Via the U.S. Geological Survey

Landslides/Mudslides: Forecasting Risk
Via Columbia Climate School Earth Institute,
Includes information about which areas on the earth are most susceptible to landslides.
Landslides: Predicting Landslide Hazards in Near Real-Time
Via NASA's Earth Observatory

Hurricane Forecasting
Via the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
National Hurricane Center
Via National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, explore the Educational Resources menu for more information

Tsunami: What are Tsunamis?
Via the U.S. Geological Service, includes answers to Frequently Asked Questions.
Tsunami: What is a Tsunami?
Via the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, includes link to preparedness programs and trackers

Understanding Wildfire Warnings, Watches and Behavior
Via the National Weather Service
When and Where do Wildfires Occur?
Via the Western Fire Chiefs Association
Wildfires
Via National Geographic Education