LibGuides: 8th Grade Global Forgiveness and Leadership: Home

Guidelines for Research

1) Search/read/view the resources linked below to build your understanding of global approaches to forgiveness and leadership. Think of alternate search terms like reconciliation to aid your search.

2) If you decide to use a search engine to find additional sources, be critical of the sources you find.

Use the ABCs of website evaluation to determine if the source is credible:

A = Authority Who is the author or which organization created the website?

B = Bias Is the website biased by its creator's purpose or mission? What can you tell about the purpose of the site based on the domain name (.com, .edu, .gov, .org)?

C = Current Content Was the content created recently enough for your research needs?

3) You might find it useful to take notes in NoodleTools. Use your RPCS email to log in.

Please email Ms. Fox or visit her in the library if you need help!

Relevant Databases

American Indian History
American Indian History offers fast access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.

Username: ropark
Password: facts
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues In Context supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single searchGlobal Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
Points of View Reference Center
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issuesand develop analytical thinking skills.

Username: roland
Password: ParkCS2023!
World Religions
World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy covers religion around the globe, from prehistory to the present.

Username: rolandstudent
Password: student

Forgiveness as an Individual Practice

Da Kuan Shu, Forgiveness: podcast transcript with Master and Dr. Sha
Da Kuan Shu: Forgiveness Practice from Dr & Master Sha
Master Zhi Gang Sha is a Tao Grandmaster, healer, teacher and author of over 25 books.
Ho’oponopono
Self I-Dentity through Ho’oponopono® (SITH®) is an updated Hawaiian problem solving process, developed by Morrnah Nalamaku Simeona, a Hawaiian Kahuna Lapa’au.
Ubuntu
Ubuntu and the Politics of Forgiveness

Indigenous Perspectives on Forgiveness and Leadership

Drawing from Indigenous practices of love, forgiveness, Diane Schenandoah offers hope in looking to future of being
Description of Diane Schenandoah's (Oneida Nation of the Wolf Clan of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy) work with forgiveness and storytelling
An Indigenous Perspective on Forgiveness
Article by Agnes Mastin (Tse'khene Nation) from her website Indigenous Christian
Leadership through an Indigenous Lens
By Kelley McCall, PhD (Cherokee)

Beirut's Garden of Forgiveness

Garden of Forgiveness
Link includes a brief video about the reasons and plans for the Garden of Forgiveness in Beirut.
Healing the Wounds of History: Garden of Forgiveness
Link includes more information and short video about the history of and plans for the Garden of Forgiveness.

Yom Kippur and Teshuva

Is Forgiveness Necessary (Yom Kippur and Teshuva)
From My Jewish Learning
The Art of Forgiveness
By Eliezer Shemtov from Chabad.org

Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada

Educational Programs
Via the University of Manitoba
National Center for Truth and Reconciliation
via the University of Manitoba, which now houses all the records of the documents collected by the TRC
Orange Shirt Day
Truth and Reconciliation Commission (about)
Via the University of Manitoba
Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
Via the government of Canada

Redress and Reparations for Japanese Americans

Japanese Incarceration and the Fight for Redress at White House
By Sarah Fling via the White House Historical Association
National Council for Japanese American Redress
Via Densho Encyclopedia
Redress and Reparations for Japanese American Incarceration
Via the National WWII Museum, New Orleans
Redress Movement
Via Densho Encyclopedia, a free and publicly accessible website that provides concise, accurate, and balanced information on many aspects of the Japanese American story during World War II. Funding provided by the National Parks Service and the California Civil Liberties Public Education Fund.
The Unlikely Story Behind Japanese Americans' Campaign For Reparations
By Isabella Rosario via NPR

Truth and Reconciliation Commission and Desmond Tutu

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC)
Article from the Apartheid Museum in South Africa
The Forgiveness Project: Desmond Tutu
The Forgiveness Project collects and shares stories from both victims/survivors and perpetrators of crime and conflict who have rebuilt their lives following hurt and trauma.
Four Lessons From Desmond Tutu’s Life and Legacy
The archbishop sought reconciliation when others wanted retribution. He sought healing when others wanted revenge. From the US Institute of Peace
'My humanity is caught up in yours' : How Desmond Tutu dedicated his life to greater good
6 minute video from PBS NewsHour

Holocaust Survivors and Forgiveness

Holocaust Survivor Dr. Edith Eger on the Gift of Forgiveness and Building Stoic Resilience
On this episode of the podcast, Ryan Holiday talks to Dr. Edith Eger about her book The Choice: Embrace the Possible which details her time at the Auschwitz concentration camp, the importance of feeling traumatic experiences in an effort to heal them, how suffering should lead us to strength rather than victimization, why forgiveness is a gift that you must choose to give to yourself, and more.
THE CHOICE: Embrace the Possible (Dr. Edith Eger's website)
Dr. Edith Eger's website
Viktor Frankl
Via the Victor Frankl Institute of America

Martin Luther King Jr.

The Meaning of Forgiveness (notes from sermons)
Via Stanford University's Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute
The Power Of Martin Luther King Jr.'s Anger
Via NPR