LibGuides: 10th Imperialism Research: Home

Research Guidelines

1) Once you have selected a country of interest, brainstorm keywords that relate to your country and its history with being imperialized. Do some background reading in your class text to build a list of keywords and alternate search terms.

2) Use the databases, websites, eBooks, and print books listed below to search for more information about your topic. Print resources are available in the Faissler Library and may have more depth. You can search our catalog through the link provided below.

3) Start a project in NoodleTools (select Chicago for citation style) and share it with your teacher's project inbox. Track your sources and take notes using NoodleTools. Make sure that each notecard is connected to a source. Use the sample notecard in your assignment document as a model.

4) Evaluate your sources using the OPVL source analysis approach - Origin, Purpose, Value, and Limitation. Your annotation should be included in your NoodleTools project, added under each source.

The following links will help you with formatting your paper with Chicago Style:

NoodleTools
Use this tool for citations, note taking, and outline creation.
Chicago Manual of Style; General Formatting Guidelines
Via the Purdue Online Writing Lab

Chicago Manual of Style Notes-Bibliography Sample Paper
This resource contains the Notes and Bibliography (NB) sample paper for the Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition.
Chicago Manual of Style: Citation Quick Guide
Cite while you write
Via Williams College
Tips on when and how to quote in CMOS
Via Williams College

Databases

American History This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on American history from the era of early exploration (1350) to the present.

Username: rolandstudent
Password: student
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues In Context supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single searchGlobal Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Username: rpcountry
Password: wisdom23
ProQuest Central Student This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central K-12 is a multidisciplinary resource that brings together many of ProQuest’s most important, complete databases in science, technology, education, social sciences, humanities, and news. This database solves the problem of preparing students for college level academics by giving them access to a variety of sources, types of content, and multiple subjects using an interface that is widely used in higher education and prep schools.

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#
ProQuest History Database This link opens in a new window
An online resource providing a vast collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of history. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips. Study Units offer editorially selected material on over 500 historical topics.

Username: rolandpark
Password: welcome
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills
Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
World History: The Modern Era (covering history from the Renaissance to today) is the latest update of the reference standard of electronic history reference materials for high school and high-level middle school coursework.

Username: rolandstudent
Password: student
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale World History in Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

Username: balt23720
Password:balt23720

Videos

Crucible of Empire: The Spanish-American War
Via PBS
Imperialism | Crash Course World History
Via PBS, John Green teaches you about European Imperialism in the 19th century.
STORY OF CHINA: The Opium Trade in China
Via PBS, Michael Wood talks to Prof. Zheng Yangwen about the crippling social effects on China of the opium trade run by the British.

Websites

African Responses to European Intrusion
Via Wallace G. Mills, former professor at St. Mary's University
Africa South of the Sahara: History Primary Sources
Via Stanford Libraries, includes links to resources and primary sources about African history
The Age of Imperialism
Via Small Planet Communications, a company that creates textbooks and learning resources for educators and students.
The British Empire (podcast)
Podcast discusses the British Empire, what drove Britain to follow the imperial road and what was its legacy?
Colonialism
Via Stanford's Encyclopedia of Philosophy, features an article that explains the difference between colonialism and imperialism
The fight against colonialism and imperialism in Africa
Via South African History Online
Hawaii: The 1897 Petition Against Annexation
Via the National Archives, historical context is provided
Hawaii: The Kingdom of Hawai'i history
Non-profit foundation supporting Native Hawaiian history and culture
Hawaiian Political Association, 1887-1901
Search this site for information about how Native Hawaiians resisted US imperialism
How Colonialism Spawned and Continues to Exacerbate the Climate Crisis
Via Columbia Climate School
Impacts of Colonialism
via the Journal of World Systems Research (ProQuest)
Imperialism Primary Source Library
Via Fordham University's Internet History Sourcebook
Internet African History Sourcebook: European Imperialism
Via Fordham University's Internet History Sourcebook, find links to relevant primary sources and websites
The Story of Africa: Africa and Europe
Via BBC
Story of American Imperialism
Via NPR, Historian Daniel Immerwahr says there are also plenty of times in our history when we've subjugated and ruled foreign lands, sometimes with bloody conquests. Today, roughly 4 million people live in the American territories of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, and the Northern Mariana Islands. Immerwahr's new book, 'How to Hide an Empire,' looks at the history of and forces behind US territorial expansion.
Theories of Imperialism
Via Mount Holyoke professor Vincent Ferraro, the Ruth C. Lawson Professor of International Politics, Mount Holyoke College
United States History - Primary Resources: American Imperialism
Via Southern Connecticut State University, this LibGuide includes useful links to a variety of subtopics within American Imperialism
World Factbook
Via the CIA

Gale E-Books in Context

Gale E-Books in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a great source for reference e-books aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720

America and the World: Foreign Affairs and Political Cartoons (1898-1940)
Ebook from the National Archives

Relevant Books from our Collection

The Decline and Fall of the British Empire, 1781-1997 by Piers Brendon
Call Number: 909.82 Bre
ISBN: 9780307268297
Publication Date: 2008-10-28
Habits of Empire by Walter Nugent
Call Number: 973 Nug
ISBN: 9781400042920
Publication Date: 2008-06-10
Examines each of the nation's territorial acquisitions since 1782-how the land was acquired, how its previous occupants were removed or reduced, and how it was then settled and stabilized.
How to Hide an Empire by Daniel Immerwahr
Call Number: 973 IMM
ISBN: 9781250251091
Publication Date: 2020-03-03
"A history of the United States' overseas possessions, from Puerto Rico to the Philippines and beyond, and what they reveal about the true meaning of American empire."
Imperialism: a history in documents by Bonnie G. Smith
Call Number: 325 Smi
ISBN: 0195108019
Publication Date: 2000-11-09
A People's History of American Empire by Howard Zinn; Mike Konopacki; Paul Buhle
Call Number: 741.5 ZIN
ISBN: 9780805087444
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Unfinished Empire by John Darwin
ISBN: 9781620400371
Publication Date: 2013-02-12
The enormous influence of the British Empire cannot be escaped. It has shaped the world in countless ways, repopulating continents, carving out nations, imposing its language, technology and values. For perhaps two centuries its existence, expansion, and final collapse could be seen as the single largest determinant of historical events.

Faissler Library Catalog
Search the catalog for other books related to your country.