LibGuides: Witchcraft Source Analysis: Home

Source Analysis Guidelines

Use the databases listed below to find articles on your topics.

The topics you may choose from are:

West African White Magick (witchcraft)

Caribbean Syncretic Religions

Brazilian Candomble
Cuban Santeria
Haitian Vodou

New Orleans Voodoo/Hoodoo

Black religion in America

Remember that you might need to try alternative search terms in different databases, i.e. "syncretism in religion" or "religious syncretism".

You can use the Advanced Search feature in these databases to combine terms, i.e. "syncretism in religion" AND "Yoruba".

Use your RPCS email to log into NoodleTools.

Use NoodleTools to create a project (naming convention: last name_witchcraft) where you can track and annotate your sources.

Your project should be in the Advanced level of Chicago Manual of Style.

Share your project with the witchcraft source analysis project inbox.

Once you select three sources, write a source annotation for each one in NoodleTools. Use the OPVL method (see below) as a way to structure your annotations. In addition, make sure you cover Ms. Rohrer's critique questions to guide your annotation.

Research Databases

African American History
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into a subject or era through the Topic Centers.

Username: ropark
Password: facts
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Username: rpcountry
Password: wisdom23
ProQuest Central Student
ProQuest Central K-12 is a multidisciplinary resource that brings together many of ProQuest’s most important, complete databases in science, technology, education, social sciences, humanities, and news. This database solves the problem of preparing students for college level academics by giving them access to a variety of sources, types of content, and multiple subjects using an interface that is widely used in higher education and prep schools.

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#
Gale In Context High School
Gale In Context High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
Explora Secondary Schools
Designed specifically for middle and high school students, this database provides access to popular full-text magazines, books, images, and journals for middle and high school research.

Username: roland
Password: ParkCS2023!