LibGuides: 11th Grade: Black Revolution Research: Home

Guidelines for Research

1) Search the databases and websites linked below for your topic. Remember to try alternate search terms.

2) When using a search engine to find additional sources, be critical of the sources you find.

Use the ABCs of website evaluation to determine if the source is credible:

A = Authority Who is the author or which organization created the website?

B = Bias Is the website biased by its creator's purpose or mission? What can you tell about the purpose of the site based on the domain name (.com, .edu, .gov, .org)?

C = Current Content Was the content created recently enough for your research needs?

3) Use NoodleTools to track your citations and take notes. Use your RPCS email to log in.

Please email Ms. Fox or visit her in the library if you need help!

John Lewis talks with fellow "Freedom fighter" James Zwerg who was brutally beaten in Montgomery, Alabama, after riding into town on a Greyhound bus. Photograph. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, .

Relevant Databases

African American History This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into a subject or era through the Topic Centers.

Username: ropark
Password: facts
American History This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on American history from the era of early exploration (1350) to the present.

Username: rolandstudent
Password: student
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills
Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720

Helpful Websites

Civil Rights Icons
Via PBS, includes video clips from important civil rights icons.
Juanita Jackson Mitchell Research LibGuide
Please find extensive resources on Juanita Jackson Mitchell on this Libguide.
King Encyclopedia
Via Stanford University and The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute, this online encyclopedia lists 1,000s of civil rights movement figures, documents, events, and concepts. Scroll down to search alphabetically or use the search box at the top right.
SNCC Digital Gateway
The SNCC digital website, organized by the SNCC Legacy Project and Duke University Libraries, offers lots of information, including time lines, profiles of important people, etc.
Whitney Young: Powerbroker
Via PBS,
One of the most celebrated leaders of the Civil Rights era, Whitney Young helped thousands of people struggling against discrimination by taking the fight directly to those in power.

Print Resources in the Faissler Library

Black Women Leaders of the Civil Rights Movement by Zita Allen
Call Number: 323.4 All
ISBN: 0531112713
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Civil Rights (1954-2015) by Salem Press Editors; Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: 323.0973 Civ
ISBN: 9781619258563
Publication Date: 2016-01-20
Ella Baker by J. Todd Moye; John David Smith (Contribution by)
Call Number: Bio Bak
ISBN: 9781442215658
Publication Date: 2013-09-12
Hands on the Freedom Plow by Faith S. Holsaert (Editor); Martha Prescod Norman Noonan (General Editor); Judy Richardson (Editor); Betty Garman Robinson (General Editor); Jean Smith Young (General Editor); Dorothy M. Zellner (Editor)
Call Number: 305.43 HAN
ISBN: 9780252035579
Publication Date: 2010-09-30
Juanita Jackson Mitchell by Katherine Kenny
Call Number: 975.26 Ken
ISBN: 1413795862
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
The March Against Fear by Ann Bausum
Call Number: Bio Mer
ISBN: 9781426326653
Publication Date: 2017-01-03
Want to Start a Revolution? by Jeanne Theoharis (Editor); Komozi Woodard (Editor); Dayo F. Gore (Editor)
Call Number: 323 Wan
ISBN: 9780814783146
Publication Date: 2009-12-01

Gale E-Books in Context

Gale E-Books in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a great source for reference e-books aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720

Historical Newspapers

Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Username: rolandpark
Password: rolandpark
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from the following newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004), The New York Times (1851 - 2014), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), and The Washington Post (1877 - 2001).

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#