LibGuides: Telling African Stories Final Project: Home

Research Guidelines

1) Search the databases, websites, eBooks, and library catalog linked below for your topic. Remember to try alternate search terms.

2) When using a search engine to find additional sources, be critical of the sources you find.

Use the ABCs of website evaluation to determine if the source is credible:

A = Authority Who is the author or which organization created the website?

B = Bias Is the website biased by its creator's purpose or mission? What can you tell about the purpose of the site based on the domain name (.com, .edu, .gov, .org)?

C = Current Content Was the content created recently enough for your research needs?

3) Use NoodleTools to track your citations and take notes. Use your RPCS email to log in.

Please email Ms. Fox or visit her in the library if you need help!

Recommended Databases

African American History
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into a subject or era through the Topic Centers.

Username: ropark
Password: facts
EBSCO High School
Nine databases offering a comprehensive search of periodicals, eBooks, etc.

Username: roland
Password: ParkCS2023!
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Username: rpcountry
Password: wisdom23
ProQuest Central Student
ProQuest Central K-12 is a multidisciplinary resource that brings together many of ProQuest’s most important, complete databases in science, technology, education, social sciences, humanities, and news. This database solves the problem of preparing students for college level academics by giving them access to a variety of sources, types of content, and multiple subjects using an interface that is widely used in higher education and prep schools.

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#
U.S. History in Context
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills
Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720
World History in Context
Gale World History in Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

Username: balt23720
Password:balt23720

Helpful Websites

BlackPast.org
BlackPast is dedicated to providing reliable information on the history of Black people across the globe, and especially in North America. Our goal is to promote greater understanding of our common human experience through knowledge of the diversity of the Black experience and the ubiquity of the global Black presence. Welcome to the largest online encyclopedia on African American and Global African history on the Internet. Started at the University of Washington and now run by a range of academics.
King Encyclopedia
Via Stanford University and The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute, this online encyclopedia lists 1,000s of civil rights movement figures, documents, events, and concepts. Scroll down to search alphabetically or use the search box at the top right.
Civil Rights Icons
Via PBS, includes video clips from important civil rights icons.
Black Revolution Research LibGuide
Black History Matters LibGuide
African Responses to European Intrusion Research LibGuide

Historical and Current News Sources

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Includes full-text articles from the following newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004), The New York Times (1851 - 2014), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), and The Washington Post (1877 - 2001).

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#
Ethnic News Watch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Username: rolandpark
Password: rolandpark

E-Books in our Collection

Gale E-Books in Context
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a great source for reference e-books aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers.

Username: balt23720
Password: balt23720

Search for Books

Library Catalog