LibGuides: Roland Park Country School: Lower School

Local Sources for Research

Maryland.gov - Current information about many important topics, issues, laws and regulations that have to do with our state.
Maryland General Assembly - Information about past and current legislation as well as what is happening in the House and Senate.
The Baltimore Sun - largest daily newspaper based in Maryland with coverage of local news, events, issues and people.
- User Name: library@rpcs.org
- Password: BSRPCS1
Baltimore Fishbowl - fun, factual and sometimes controversial scoop on local schools, real estate, culture, lifestyle, and community.
CBS News Baltimore - breaking news and community journalism
Maryland Matters - features news on local schools, real estate, money and power, culture, lifestyle, and community and more.
**ProQuest Central Student - brings together important, complete databases, including news.
- User Name: rpcs2016
- Password: rpcs2016#
WBAL News - articles with latest Baltimore news, weather and sports.
WMAR 2 News - breaking and developing news, weather, traffic and sports coverage from the Baltimore metro area

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Keep track of citations for research projects, create annotations, and generate bibliographies.

Log in with your school Office 365 account

Other Libraries

The following links will take you away from the RPCS LibGuides site.

Welcome to the Killebrew Library

Welcome to the Killebrew Library! We serve the entire lower school community, including kindergarten through fifth grade, Little Reds and Littlest Reds.

Access Lower School Project LibGuides

Databases

BrainPOP! This link opens in a new window
A learning resource supporting core and supplemental subjects.
Use your RPCS email to sign in.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content for students.

Username:rolandpark
Password: rolandpark
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia for students in all divisions that is updated continuously and closely correlated to curriculum standards.

Username: roland
Password: school
ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights-cleared images from one site.

Username: roland
Password: school
PebbleGo This link opens in a new window
A resource for grades K-2 that includes biographies and searchable content on animals, science, social studies, and dinosaurs.

Username: roland
Password: school
PebbleGo Next This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo Next is the next step in research for students grades 3-6. Launching with a States and American Indian studies module, PebbleGo Next is carefully aligned to grades 3-6 curriculum objectives. The database is simple to navigate and offers key reading supports.

Username: roland
Password: school
ScholasticGO This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia that includes Grolier online, Go Tube, and other general reference content for young students.

Username: rolandpark
Password: remote
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Username: rpcs2016
Password: rpcs2016#
World Book Online This link opens in a new window
World Book Online encyclopedia for students of all ages.

Username: rolandpark
Password: athome

Thank You

Many thanks to the librarians at USN for their LibGuides templates and design inspiration!

Search for Books

Library Catalog

OverDrive

Sora for OverDrive

Books as Mirrors, Windows and Sliding Glass Doors

We Need Diverse Books
Promotes literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people.
Video - Books as Mirrors, Windows and Sliding Glass Doors
Rudine Sims Bishop explains her concept.
Marley Diaz - 1,000 Black Girl Books Resource Guide

Access to Books Read by Authors Online

Authors Everywhere
YouTube Channel created and run by children’s book writers and illustrators.
The Big List of Children’s Authors Doing Online Read Alouds & Activities
Featuring authors and titles for early childhood through high school.